What Do You Like Most About Madison?

I was born in this city and moved away at such an early age that I had no idea what Madison had to offer.  After about 25 years, I finally made my way back.  I lived in five cities and three states.  Through that, you get a pretty good idea as to what attracts people to certain locations.

I didn’t really know what to expect with Madison, other than the weather wouldn’t always cooperate, but I was anxious to give it a shot. 

The result were, well, it’s the best place I’ve ever lived.

But why? 

So I sat down and made a list of things that I thought really made a great city.  Of course there are the usual things such as:

  • Young and vibrant citizens
  • Amount of activities we have access to
  • Great food…Madison has some of the best restaurants I have ever been to!

But some of the other cities I lived in had these things too. 

I went to the What’s Up Downtown Breakfast this morning, which is hosted by a non-profit organization, Downtown Madison Incorporated, and I think I discovered what I believe makes Madison the number one on my list…a great collaborative business environment.

Why would this be number one for me?  Well, it seems as though no task is too large for Madisonians.  If it’s too much to take on individually, we collaborate.  This is where most cities seem to fall short.

In Madison, we bring everyone that wants to be a part of a winning team together.  Possibly the most instrumental organization responsible for bringing Madison businesses together to advocate for a number of different issues is Downtown Madison Incorporated (DMI).

According to their website, DMI is the voice of the central city; it was formed over 30 years ago to address decaying conditions in downtown.  DMI has played an instrumental role in revitalization of downtown Madison. 

Through the support and dedication of area businesses, we have been able to collaborate and advocate for the following developments, just to name a few:

  • Monona Terrace
  • Overture Center
  • Tax Incremental Financing
  • Regional Transportation Authority
  • DMI Bicycle Initiative ((B) cycle)

We are a proud sponsor of Downtown Madison Incorporated and would encourage you to check out one of their many events around town including:

  • What’s Up Downtown
  • New Faces New Places
  • Lunch Time Live

So what I like best about Madison is the fact that no task is too big for us.  As long as it is for the common good, Madisonians find a way to get it done.  What do you like best about Madison?

Leave a Reply

