Estate Planning…for LIFE!

Is your estate plan in order?  Pose that question, and most people answer ‘yes’ or ‘no’ in the context of whether they reviewed (possibly amended) their will or revocable living trust in recent years. 

As Billy Mays might have said, “But wait…there’s more!” 

The ‘more’ part is the lifetime component of the estate planning process.  So…carefully think about the following questions:

  • Will I have enough income to enjoy my retirement?
  • How will a sudden disability affect my income, my cash flow?
  • If I become disabled for the long-term and require the services of a health care professional on a daily basis, how will I pay for it?  Where will I live?  Who will pay?  For how long?
  • Given the current economic and political environment, is my overall investment plan sensible for me and my family? 
  • Have I done everything possible to be tax-smart?
  • Who will manage my finances should I become disabled?  Am I still comfortable with that decision?
  • Who will make important health care decisions on my behalf should I become unable to do so?  Am I still comfortable with that decision? 

Do you have answers to all of these questions?  Are you comfortable with them?   If not, take a few minutes to speak with your wealth manager or estate planning attorney. 

The National Network of Estate planning attorney defines estate planning as follows:  

“I want to control my property while I am alive and well, care for myself and my loved ones if I become disabled, and be able to give what I have to whom I want, the way I want, when I want, and, if I can, I want to save every last tax dollar, attorney fee, and court cost possible.” 

Sounds like a good plan…for LIFE!

Leave a Reply

